Doubleday Bantam Trade Hb Uk

  • US Marshal Teddy Daniels has come to Shutter Island, home of Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane. Along with his partner, Chuck Aule, he sets out to find an escaped murderess named Rachel Solando as a hurricane bears down upon them. But nothing at Ashecliffe Hospital is what it seems, and neither is Teddy Daniels.

  • Anglais Tokyo

    Mo Hayder

    With its heady atmosphere of overt violence, lurking fear and sexual tension, Tokyo grabs the reader and refuses to let go until its shattering final pages. Student Greg Hutchens comes to Tokyo seeking answers to what happened when the Army killed 300,000 civilians.

  • 'Seek and ye shall find.' With these words echoing in his head, eminent Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon awakes in a hospital bed with no recollection of where he is or how he got there. Nor can he explain the origin of the macabre object that is found hidden in his belongings.



    A threat to his life will propel him and a young doctor, Sienna Brooks, into a breakneck chase across the city of Florence. Only Langdon's knowledge of hidden passageways and ancient secrets that lie behind its historic facade can save them from the clutches of their unknown pursuers.





    With only a few lines from Dante's dark and epic masterpiece, The Inferno , to guide them, they must decipher a sequence of codes buried deep within some of the most celebrated artefacts of the Renaissance - sculptures, paintings, buildings - to find the answers to a puzzle which may, or may not, help them save the world from a terrifying threat.



    Set against an extraordinary landscape inspired by one of history's most ominous literary classics, Inferno is Dan Brown's most compelling and thought-provoking novel yet, a breathless race-against-time thriller that will grab you from page one and not let you go until you close the book.

  • Welcome to Freemee They can give you confidence , power, fame and all the friends in the world. But what will they take in return? For fans of BLACK MIRROR and Dave Eggers'' THE CIRCLE When a teenager is shot dead after chasing a criminal in the street, investigating journalist Cynthia Bonsant is led to the popular social media platform Freemee, a competitor to Facebook whose lifestyle app claims to give you everything you need to succeed in life. But there is someone who warns against its evils: Zero, the world''s most-wanted activist, known for exposing the toxic truths behind social media giants and their pursuit of total control. As Cynthia gets closer to unravelling the evil mastermind behind the Freemee site, she herself becomes a target. But in this world of hidden cameras, data glasses and intelligent smart phones there is nowhere to hide . . .

  • Anglais Skin

    Mo Hayder

    Tous les indices tendent à prouver qu'il s'agirait d'un suicide. Ce qui arrange bien la police, pressée de classer le dossier. Mais l'inspecteur Jack Caffery n'adhère pas à cette thèse. Encore obsédé par l'affaire des crimes rituels, il soupçonne un Tokoloshe, créature insaisissable et maléfique de la tradition zouloue, d'être à l'origine de cette mort.
    Tandis que Caffery se débat avec ses théories irrationnelles, Flea, la jeune plongeuse de la police, est confrontée à des problèmes bien plus concrets. Le coffre de sa voiture ne s'ouvre plus, et son intuition lui souffle que quelque chose de terrible l'y attend. Pour ne rien arranger, elle sent que, tapi dans l'ombre, quelqu'un l'observe...

  • A new hardcover edition of the international phenomenon.

  • The Lost Symbol is the eagerly anticipated follow-up to The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown's No. 1 international phenomenon with 81 million copies in print worldwide and the UK's biggest selling paperback novel of all time, and it will once again feature Dan Brown's unforgettable protagonist, Robert Langdon. This book's narrative takes place in a 12-hour period, and from the first page, Dan's readers will feel the thrill of discovery as they follow Robert Langdon through a masterful and unexpected new landscape.The Lost Symbol is a brilliant and compelling thriller. Dan Brown's prodigious talent for storytelling, infused with history, codes and intrigue, is on full display in this new book.

    'This novel has been a strange and wonderful journey', says Dan Brown himself. 'Weaving five years of research into the story's 12-hour timeframe was an exhilarating challenge. Robert Langdon's life clearly moves a lot faster than mine'.

    Http://www.thelostsymbol.com/

  • The master storyteller is back with a classic race-against-time thriller with a modern edge. Most weapons do what you tell them. Most weapons you can control. But what if the most dangerous weapon in the world isn''t a smart missile or a stealth submarine or even an AI computer programme?What if it''s a 17-year-old boy with a blisteringly brilliant mind, who can run rings around the most sophisticated security services across the globe, who can manipulate that weaponry and turn it against the superpowers themselves?How valuable would he be? And what wouldn''t you do to get hold of him? The Fox is a race-against-time thriller across continents to find and capture, or protect and save, an asset with the means to change the balance of world power. Whatever happens he must not fall into the wrong hands. Because what follows after that is unthinkable...

  • Finally free of the shadow cast by his father's death, Max Maxted is back.

    1924. Germany teeters on the brink of financial meltdown. The new Nazi party are for the first time vying for real political power. And the slightest incident could tip the country into violence and anarchy. When a young man is stabbed in the door of a Berlin nightclub, an already overheated situation threatens to spiral out of control This is classic Robert Goddard - master of the double-cross

  • GET READY FOR THE MOST EXCITING COUNT-DOWN OF YOUR LIFE HOUR SIXTY-ONE Icy winter in South Dakota. A bus skids and crashes in a gathering storm. On the back seat: Jack Reacher, hitching a ride to nowhere. A life without baggage has many advantages. And disadvantages too, like facing the arctic cold without a coat.

    HOUR THIRTY-ONE A small town is threatened by sinister forces. One brave woman is standing up for justice.If she's going to live to testify, she'll need help from a man like Reacher.Because there's a killercoming for her.

    HOUR ZERO Has Reacher finally met his match? He doesn't want to put the world to rights. He just doesn't like people who put it to wrongs.

  • Suicide bombers are easy to spot. They give out all kinds of tell-tale signs. Mostly because they're nervous. Riding the subway in New York at two o'clock in the morning, Reacher knows the twelve giveaway signs to look out for. Watching one of his fellow-passengers, he becomes sharply aware: one by one, she ticks off every bulletpoint on his list.

  • 'It's said that a Jack Reacher novel is bought every four seconds somewhere in the world. Lee Child's genius has been to create a tough guy hero that men will envy and women will adore' Daily Express After an epic and interrupted journey all the way from the snows of South Dakota, Jack Reacher has finally made it to Virginia. His destination: a sturdy stone building a short bus ride from Washington D.C., the headquarters of his old unit, the 110th MP. It was the closest thing to a home he ever had.



    Why? He wants to meet the new commanding officer, Major Susan Turner. He liked her voice on the phone. But the officer sitting behind Reacher's old desk isn't a woman. Why is Susan Turner not there?



    What Reacher doesn't expect is what comes next. He himself is in big trouble, accused of a sixteen-year-old homicide. And he certainly doesn't expect to hear these words: 'You're back in the army, Major. And your ass is mine.' Will he be sorry he went back? Or - will someone else?

  • March 1997. A woman has her throat cut behind a bar in Carter Crossing, Mississippi. Just down the road is a big army base.Is the murderer a local guy - or is he a soldier?

    Jack Reacher, still a major in the military police, is sent in undercover.The county sheriff is a former U.S. Marine - and a stunningly beautiful woman. Her investigation is going nowhere. Is the Pentagon stonewalling her? Or doesn't she really want to find the killer?

    The adrenaline-pumping, high-voltage action in The Affair is set just six months before the opening of Killing Floor, and it marks a turning point in Reacher's career. If he does what the army wants, will he be able to live with himself? And if he doesn't, will the army be able to live with him? Is this his last case in uniform?

  • With six shots, five people were dead and one heartland city is thrown into terror. But the cops have it solved. It is a slam-dunk case, except that the accused man claims: "You got the wrong guy". After that, all he'll say is: "Get Reacher for me." Jack Reacher lives off the grid. What could connect the ex-military cop to this obvious psychopath?

  • You DO NOT MESS with the Special Investigators!

    The events of 9/11 changed Jack Reacher's drifter life in a practical way. In addition to his folding toothbrush, he now needs to carry photo ID to get around. Yet he is still as close to untraceable as a human being in America can get.

    So when a member of his old Army unit manages to get a message to him, he knows it has to be deadly serious. The Special Investigators always watched each other's backs. Now Reacher must put the old unit back together. Someone has killed one of them, and he can't let that go

  • Two small towns in Colorado: Hope and Despair. Between them, nothing but twelve miles of empty road. Jack Reacher can't find a ride, so he walks. All he wants is a cup of coffee. What he gets are four redneck deputies who want to run him out of town. Mistake. They're picking on the wrong guy. What is the secret the locals seem so keen to hide?

  • The heartstopping new thriller by No.1 bestselling author Lee Child.

  • Collected together for the first time, and including a brand new adventure TOO MUCH TIME, this is the complete Jack Reacher short story collection. Lone wolf, knight errant, ex-military cop, lover of women, scourge of the wicked and righter of wrongs, Reacher is the most iconic hero for our age and consistently reaches bestseller lists around the world.

  • Anglais WOLF

    Mo Hayder

    I believe, from what I can hear, that either my daughter or my wife has just been attacked. I don't know the outcome. The house is silent.



    Fourteen years ago two teenage lovers were brutally murdered in a patch of remote woodland. The prime suspect confessed to the crimes and was imprisoned.



    Now, one family is still trying to put the memory of the killings behind them. But at their isolated hilltop house . . . the nightmare is about to return.

empty